Year End Ceremonies Honor Students

Year End Ceremonies Honor Students

Year end award ceremonies at the Academy of Notre Dame recognized and celebrated the accomplishments of both the Class of 2019 and undergraduates in separate events.

The Baccalaureate Liturgy was held May 31 for seniors and their families in Our Lady’s Chapel with Fr. Richard Clancy as the celebrant. The ceremony consisted of readings and responsorial psalms by class members, prayers and the presentation of gifts.

The Salutatorian’s Address was given by Anoutsa Latsapanya of Lowell and was followed by the bestowing of scholarships and awards.

Meghan Pefine of Billerica was awarded with the World Language Scholarship and received recognition for perfect attendance. The Student Council Award was given to Bridget Ryan of Groton. The National Honor Society awarded both Julie Getchell of Methuen and Annika Hanson of North Billerica. Annabelle Fandozzi of Merrimack, NH, was awarded by the Art Honor Society.

Fandozzi and Victoria Bradley of Dracut were both honored by the Greater Lowell Roadrunners. The Rachel Ann Morrison Scholarship was awarded to Anoutsa Latsapanya. The Rachel Ann Morrison Athlete Scholar was awarded to Elena Murguia of Hollis, NH, who was also recognized for perfect attendance. FoNDA Scholarships were awarded to Kathleen Curran of Lowell, Taylor Martineau of Merrimack, NH, Rebecca Morgheim of Dracut, and Christina Tsillas of Littleton.

The 13-Year Award for having attended the Academy since kindergarten was granted to five seniors: Natalie Kelleher of Lowell, Elena Murguia, Megan Perrault of Tyngsboro, Monique Barowski of Tyngsboro, and Taylor Martineau.

The President’s Award recognizes students who have achieved a 4.0 or greater throughout their time at the Academy. Honorees for the President’s Award were Victoria Bradley, Justine Elshama of Westford, Annika Hanson, Anoutsa Latsapanya, Rebecca Morgheim, Elena Murguia, Ciara Wang of North Chelmsford, Jillian Wright of Nashua, NH, Kathy Xie of North Chelmsford, and Shelly Yang of Lowell.

Members of the Upper School’s Junior Class received several scholarships, grants and book awards during the Undergraduate Awards Ceremony on June 7.

The Ann Boumila Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Julianna Muiruri of Dracut.

Grace Delarosa of Pelham, NH, was the recipient of the Kathleen Brady McKenney ’63 Memorial Scholarship.

Ella French of Groton was awarded the Sister Marie Paula McNiff Scholarship.

Lana Sukkar of Merrimack, NH was honored with the Donna Sullivan Dickey ’59 Memorial Scholarship and the Harvard Prize Book Award. This book award was given to Sukkar for her excellence in scholarship and high character, combined with achievements in other fields.

The Edward W. Leary Jr. Memorial Scholarship recipients were Krishna Patel of Dracut and Molly Berard of Lowell. Berard was also awarded the Saint Anselm Book Award for demonstrating both academic success and exceptional leadership qualities in the area of community service and civic engagement.

The Dorothy Allen Mawn ’47 Scholarship and the Clarkson University Leadership Awards were both awarded to Thaonguyen Nguyen of Lowell. The Clarkson award is the highest honor at the university and both awards honor Nguyen for demonstrating leadership and outstanding academic achievement.

Nora Leach of Groton was honored with the Norton Family’s Excellence in Character Scholarship as well as the George Washington University Book Award. This award recognized Leach’s spirit and academic excellence, leadership outside of the classroom, diversity of thought, and ability to put knowledge into action.

The T. Edward & Mar C. O’Connell Memorial Scholarship recipient was Charlie Rei Aldana Proulx of Brookline, NH. Proulx was also awarded with the Brandeis University Book Award. This honor is given to a junior who demonstrated excellence in the classroom, leadership and a commitment to social justice and volunteer work.

The Julie Saunders Trull ’29 Memorial Scholarship and Bay Path University Presidential Book Award were awarded to Rachel Deshaies of Tyngsboro. The Bay Path Book Award is given to a young woman who has excelled in the classroom and showed a commitment to her civic community and community service.

Katherine Aste of Lowell was honored with the Karen Webster ’71 Memorial Scholarship and the Saint Michael’s book Award for academic achievement with a social conscience.

The LeMoyne College Heights Award recipient was Hannah McLeod of Tewksbury, a junior in the top 10% of her class with a high PSAT score and an average of 90 or higher. McLeod demonstrated excellence in the classroom as well as service to the community.

The Elmira College Key Award honoree was Olivia Elmstrom of Dracut, an outstanding junior who excelled scholastically, showed leadership, citizenship, and participation in extracurricular activities.

Yajie (Cherry) Jin of Nashua, NH was the recipient of the Clarkson University Achievement Award for outstanding academic achievement.

Jasmin Sabah and Olivia Gavlak, both of Hudson, NH, were honored with the Student Sage Award sponsored by The Sage Colleges. Both excelled in the classroom, were role models and community leaders.

The Worcester Polytechnic Institute STEM Leadership Book Award recipient was Marina Maximovich of Lowell, who excelled in STEM coursework, and was a leader and engaged in her school community.

Danielle Wuerdeman of Hollis, NH was honored as a Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Medalist. This medal recognizes the superlative academic achievement and helps motivate students toward careers in science, engineering and technology. Wuerdeman has distinguished herself in mathematics and science.

The Suffolk University Book Award recipient was Aleah Dubois of Nashua, NH.